Skip to product information
1 of 5

Jost Thöne Verlag

Italian & French Violin Makers - De Luxe Edition

Italian & French Violin Makers - De Luxe Edition

Regular price €2.950,00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €2.950,00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

collection of instruments crafted by the fascinating masters of the last four centuries in Italy and France are photographed in such high quality as has never been published before.

One hundred twenty-eight well-certified instruments have been meticulously and expertly photographed by one of the world’s best photographers.

As the books measure 300 mm by 460 mm, every detail of the beautiful instruments (violins and violas) is reproduced in life size. The printing technique chosen for the reproductions makes use of a special varnishing to preserve and enhance the beauty of the instruments. Each of the four volumes offers a cross-section view of the violin-making history of these two important schools and allows detailed comparison studies with the help of measurements and CT scans.

The collection is divided into four volumes containing 128 instruments on 781 pages. We have been allowed privileged access to some of the finest examples instruments of these outstanding Italian and French masters, who are listed by name in each book and also as a summary by alphabetical order for all four volumes. This makes it easy to use the work as a reference book.

The books contain the fascinating history of every featured master, thoroughly researched and carefully written, alongside comprehensive essays by distinguished experts such as Bruce Carlson (Cremona), J.F. Schmitt † (Lyon), Igor Moroder (Turin) and last but not least Florian Leonhard (London).

Limited 100 leather-bound copies of each volume, individually numbered and registered, the books—published by Jost Thoene Verlag—are certain to increase in value and become collector’s items.

Italian and French Violin Makers
Publisher: Jost Thöne, Jost Thöne Verlag
Volume I-IV, combined 781 pages, 128 instruments

De Luxe Edition Vol. I-IV

Limited to 100 copies, red leather
EUR 2,950.00*
(excl. 7% VAT) plus shipping (price on request) 
*local customs and duties may apply

* These books are printed before 2010 and so called antiquarian books. They may have slightly small damages due to storage time or factory process. Buyers have to accept and cannot claim any replacement or repayments.


All pictured instruments, in chronological order:

1620 c. violin Paolo Maggini, Brescia
1641 violin Nicolo Amati, Cremona
1670 c. violin Antonio Mariani, Pesaro
1680 violin Francesco Rugieri, Cremona
1681 violin Antonio Stradivari, Cremona
1685 c. violoncello Francesco Rugieri, Cremona
1693 violoncello Vincenzo Rugieri, Cremona
1700 violin Gioffredo Cappa, Saluzzo
1703 violin Carlo Giuseppe Testore, Milan
1705 c. violin Joannes (Giovanni) Tononi, Bologna
1710 violin Matteo Goffriller, Venice
1710 c. violoncello Giovanni Battista Grancino, Milan
1710 violin Giuseppe Guarneri ´filius Andrea´, Cremona
1712 violin Giuseppe Guarneri ´filius Andrea´, Cremona
1724 violin Antonio Stradivari, Cremona
1727 violin Antonio Stradivari, Cremona
1730 c. violin Pietro Guarneri (II)´filius Joseph´, Cremona
1734 violin Giuseppe Guarneri ´del Gesu´, Cremona
1735 violin Santo Serafino, Venice
1750 c. violin Bernardus Calcanius, Genoa
1750 c. violin Nicola Gagliano, Naples
1754 c. violin Giovanni Battista Gabrielli, Florence
1757 violin Jocobus Horil, Rome
1758 violin Jean-Baptiste Frébrunet, Paris
1759 violin Angelo Molia, Genoa
1760 violoncello Nicolas Augustin Chappuy, Mirecourt
1763 violin Tommaso Balestrieri, Mantova
1775 violin Giuseppe Dall´Aglio, Mantova
1780 c. violin François Lejeune, Paris
1781 violin Antonio Gragnani, Livorno
1788 viola Joseph Bassot, Paris
1790 c. viola Joseph Bassot, Paris
1793 viola Giuseppe Nadotti, Piacenza
1795 c. violin Nicolas Lupot, Orléans/Paris
1795 violin Nicolas Lupot, Orléans/Paris
1796 violin Lorenzo Storioni, Cremona
1800 violoncello Giovanni Gagliano, Naples
1802 violin François Louis Pique, Paris
1805 violin Raffaele & Antonio Gagliano, Naples
1811 violin Giovanni Battista Ceruti, Cremona
1814 violin Pietro Pallotta, Perugia
1824 violin Nicolas Lupot, Paris
1825 violin Felix Mori Costa, Parma
1826 violin Andrea Postacchini, Fermo
1829 violin Giovanni Francesco Pressenda, Turin
1831 violin Giuseppe Antonio Rocca, Turin
1837 violin Jacques-Pierre Thibout, Paris
1845 c. violin Pierre Pacherele, Nice
1848 violin George Chanot, Paris
1850 c. violin Jean Joseph Honoré Derazey, Mirecourt
1856 violin Gand Freres, Paris
1856 violin Pierre Silvestre, Sommerviller
1860 c. violin Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume, Paris
1866 violin Giuseppe Sgarbi, Rome
1870 c. violoncello François Caussin, Neufchâteau
1872 violin Franciskus Chaló, Turin
1875 violin Giovanni Battista de Lorenzi, Vicenza
1882 viola Giuseppe Sgarbi, Rome
1884 violin Luigi Cardi, Verona
1885 c. violin Pietro Grulli, Cremona
1885 viola Hippolyte Chrétien Silvestre, Lyon
1886 violin Emile Germain, Paris
1888 violin Pierre Joseph Hel, Lille
1888 violin Pierre Charles Jacquot, Nancy
1890 viola Antonio Sgarbi, Rome
1891 violin Vincenzo Postiglione, Naples
1892 violin Riccardo Antoniazzi, Milan
1893 viola Raffaele Fiorini, Bologna
1895 c. violin Raffaele Fiorini, Bologna
1896 viola Gustave Bernardel, Paris
1899 violin Erminio Montefiore, Genoa
1900 viola Giorgio Gatti, Turin
1900 c. violin Azzo Rovescalli, Milan
1900 violoncello Vincenzo Sannino, Naples
1901 violin Celeste Farotti, Milan
1902 violoncello Paul Bailly, Paris
1903 violin Giovanni Gaida, Ivrea
1903 violin Stefano Scarampella, Mantova
1905 violin Nestor Dominique Audinot, Paris
1908 violoncello Ettore Soffritti, Ferrara
1911 violin Celeste Farotti, Milan
1916 violin Ettore Soffritti, Ferrara
1920 violin Giuseppe Leandro Bisiach, Milan
1921 violin Cesare Candi, Genoa
1921 viola Giuseppe Ornati, Milan
1924 violin Annibale Fagnola, Turin
1924 violin Iginio Sderci, Florence
1925 violin Marco Dobretsovitch, Bologna
1925 violin Annibale Fagnola, Turin
1926 violin Ettore Soffritti, Ferrara
1927 violin Annibale Fagnola, Turin
1928 violin Gaetano Gadda, Mantova
1928 violin Ferdinando Garimberti, Milan
1928 violin Ansaldo Poggi, Bologna
1929 violin Ferdinando Garimberti, Milan
1929 violin Paolo Guadagnini, Turin
1930 violin Paolo de Barbieri, Genoa
1930 violin Cesare Candi, Genoa
1930 c. viola Gaetano Sgarabotto, Parma
1931 violin Annibale Fagnola, Turin
1932 violin Gaetano Pollastri, Bologna
1934 violin Gaetano Gadda, Mantova
1934 violin Carlo Giuseppe Oddone, Turin
1937 violin Marinus Capicchioni, Rimini
1938 violin Gaetano Pareschi, Ferrara
1938 violin Carlo Schiavi, Cremona
1939 viola Marinus Capicchioni, Rimini
1939 violin Celestino Farotto, Milan
1945 violin Mario Frosali, Los Angeles
1949 viola Gaetano Gadda, Mantova
1950 c. violin Primo Contavalli, Imola
1951 viola Umberto Roazzi, Milan
1951 violin Amedeo Simonazzi, Emilia
1952 violin Giuseppe Ornati, Milan
1954 violin Marinus Capicchioni, Rimini
1954 violin Ansaldo Poggi, Bologna
1956 violin Gennaro de Luccia, Miami
1957 violin Arnoldo Morano, Turin
1958 violin Ernesto Pevere, Ferrara
1960 violin Otello Bignami, Bologna
1960 c. viola Pietro Sgarabotto, Parma
1962 violin Arturo Fracassi, Rimini
1962 violin Pietro Sgarabotto, Parma
1963 viola Gaetano Pareschi, Ferrara
1963 viola Romolo Parmeggiani, Modena
1964 viola Ansaldo Poggi, Bologna
1967 violin Ferdinando Garimberti, Milan
1972 viola Iginio Sderci, Florence
1975 viola Giuseppe Lucci, Rome
1975 violin Sesto Rocchi, Emilia
1977 violoncello Otello Bignami, Bologna
1978 violin Giuseppe Lucci, Rome
1991 violin Erminio Malagutti, Milan



Our return policy is valid for 30 days. If it has been more than 30 days since your purchase, unfortunately we cannot offer you a refund or exchange.

Read more:

View full details